[NAAPO Logo]

NAAPO (North American AstroPhysical Observatory)

Constitution of The John D. Kraus Memorial Amateur Radio Club (W8JK)


Article 1. Name

The official name of our organization will be John D. Kraus Memorial Amateur Radio Club.

Article 2. Purpose

John D. Kraus (1910-2004) was an Amateur Radio enthusiast, astronomy pioneer, and self-described "explorer of the cosmos." This Club exists to honor his leadership and continue the mission he helped found. A primary interest of this Club and its members is the intentional propagation of radio signals outside the earth's ionosphere.

Article 3. Organizational Overview

All members of our club must, when acting with or on behalf of this club, abide by the rules of its Constitution and any others deemed necessary and proper by the executive board.

This Club is run by an Executive Board, which shall initially consist of Robert S. Dixon, R. Lee Edwards II, Angelo Campanella, Brett Boggs, Paul Hurm, Bruce Lerner, Ron Leesburg, Keri Kukral, and Marc Abel. The Executive Board must have at least four members, but there is no further constraint on it size.

This is a representative government. The membership is in control of the Club because they elect Executive Board members to control the Club at its highest authority.

The Executive Board may at its discretion appoint named officers (e.g. "President", "Vice President", "Secretary", "Treasurer", etc.) by a simple majority vote of the Executive Board and with the consent of each appointed party. Initially the President shall be Robert S. Dixon and the Vice President shall be R. Lee Edwards.

The Executive Board may appoint, as permitted by law, a Trustee for any amateur radio license(s) held by this Club. Initially this Trustee shall be Robert S. Dixon.

Except as required by law, an individual does not require an amateur radio license to be an officer or member of this Club.

Article 4. Club Membership

Membership in this Club is open to any person approved by a two-thirds vote of the Executive Board. Membership is not limited by, and no person shall be denied membership due to, his or her race, sex, creed, national origin, or sexual orientation.

A member may be expelled by a two-thirds vote of the Executive Board.

Article 5. Executive Board

The Executive Board will act as the administrative body of this Club and will consist of at least four "Executive Board members."

The Executive Board may elect to or elect not to appoint named officers (e.g. "President") in accordance with applicable law.

Article 6. Non-Profit

This Club is a non-profit organization and will only accept funds, donations, contributions, etc. as a means to maintain and expand its programs.

Article 7. Applicable Law

This Club shall operate in compliance with all applicable federal, state, and local laws and regulations. To the extent legally possible, this Club is organized and governed under the laws of the State of Ohio.

Article 8. Amendments

Any amendment to this constitution must be approved by a two-thirds majority vote of the Club membership.

Article 9. By-Laws

Meetings and/or elections may be held at any time on request and consent of of at least two-thirds of the Executive Board members. Reasonable notice in advance of any meeting or election shall be given to each Executive Board member.

Meetings of this Club's members and/or its Executive Board members need not occur in person; any forum accessible to those eligible to meet may be used, including reasonably accessible forms of electronic and/or written communication.

Expenditures, if any, must be approved via a two-thirds vote of the Executive Board.

Article 10. Signatures

The membership fully approves this initial version of the Constitution of the John D. Kraus Memorial Amateur Radio Club in its entirety. This edition is to serve as a frame for all future Executive Boards to continue the Constitution's construction.

Approved this 2nd day of June, 2007 by the undersigned:

    Robert S. Dixon, W8ERD
    R. Lee Edwards, AA8GB
    Angelo Campanella, W8EDR
    Bret Boggs, WB8WKC
    Paul Hurm, N8OT
    Bruce Lerner, KC8VEB
    Ron Leeseberg, N8LPB
    Keri Kukral
    Marc Abel, N8EVV

Copyright © 2007 North American AstroPhysical Observatory (NAAPO)
Webpage designed by Jerry Ehman
Last modified: July 7, 2007